A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I’m just about more than halfway through the summer. It’s an awesome realization to know that in a month I’ll be back with great teammates and friends to begin another exciting year at Syracuse. It’s a year I’m really looking forward to, but as I’ve blogged about before, it’s important to live in the moment and take time to appreciate the environment you are currently living in.

This summer has been a blast so far. I’ve taken a step towards pursuing my goal of making an impact in the world of running with a summer internship in the public relations department at New York Road Runners. What I love about the company so far is its mission — promoting the sport of distance running and road racing to lead others to live well balanced lives, building a tight knit community, and giving opportunities to so many people in the community by allowing them to experience and share my passion. Since day one, I have gotten to see first hand how much of an impact NYRR has in the New York City area through weekend road races for all ages, youth events such as National Running Day where New York City kids learn to live an active lifestyle and huge events such as the Oakley Mini 10K and the New York City Marathon.

I’ve learned a lot about the world of public relations so far through this experience, some of which can only be learned outside of the classroom. It takes a lot of multitasking and quick response time to be the middle man for an organization and the media. Planning can take many weeks in and advance, even months for events like the New York City Marathon, but a PR practitioner has to be able to respond on a whim and change plans if necessary. Meeting the needs of the media and releasing news related to the NYRR is a challenge and it requires a two way communication system.

photo

Jen Correa of Staten Island. Her story will be one of the segments featured for the marathon this year.

I’ve had a lot of fun experiences on the job. My first week, I got to attend National Running Day at Icahn Stadium and watch kids from all five boroughs run races and have a blast at different activity stations. I got to attend the Oakley Mini 10k and experience a press conference with elite, professional athletes as well as help run media functions the day of the race. In the office we perform many different PR activities, and each day there is something new to tackle. Planning for the marathon has been a lot of fun so far, even though it is still months away. I have met great people like Jen Correa, who battled through Hurricane Sandy, and it is amazing to have had a hand in coordinating her segment with ABC to air in the Fall. (Be sure to stay tuned for the pro athlete announcement for the ING New York City Marathon Next Week!)

Running…I have found a new side to the reasons I love running. I am meeting great people in the community and have been able to share stories and conversations through getting in some miles. Van Cortlandt Park has been great to me in my training for the upcoming cross country season. Running Cemetery Hill and passing by the finish area of the 8k has brought back memories that I get to relive at least 3 or 4 mornings a week. It also motivates me to focus on the goals Syracuse Cross Country has this year. I’ve also been able to run in Central Park for a lot of my normal training runs and doubles, where the atmosphere is filled with all kinds of interesting people and events everyday. If you have never run at Rockefeller State Park in Tarrytown/Sleepy Hollow, NY PUT IT ON YOUR BUCKET LIST. It has been my long run spot all summer, and it is filled with miles and miles of dirt trails. It connects to the OCA, which runs along the Hudson River, even down to Van Cortlandt Park.

I’m really excited to get back to Syracuse and finish off my college career strong. There is a lot of unfinished business left with Syracuse Cross Country/Track and Field, and we have big things in store this year. It has gone by extremely fast, but it isn’t over. I want to make this program the best it can be, and I am grateful to have many teammates, coaches, friends, family, and others who support me and share the same goals.

P.S. Be sure to follow @nyrrnews for the latest NYRR media news and updates as I finish out my internship!

This entry was posted in Marketing, Public Relations, Reflections, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Midsummer Night’s Dream

  1. mike north says:

    If you like the Groupon Model for Marketing your Races we need to Talk! We have paid our programmers to integrate Groupon into our platform so you have a 2 minute upload and you are rolling! We also have a Groupon recapture model that will help offset your give away! You guys will Love Pulsemob!Contact Mike North mike@pulsemob.com

Leave a Reply

